## FEDERATION OF ALL INDIA AUTOMOBILE SPARE PARTS DEALERS' ASSOCIATIONS : NEW DELHI - A PROFILE

It was in 1950 that the first meeting of the representatives of Bombay Motors Merchants Association, Calcutta Motor Dealers' Association, Delhi Motor Traders' Association, Automobile Dealers' Association, New Delhi and Madras Motor Parts Dealers' Association was held in New Delhi and was attended by the following :-

1. Shri B. R. Jain	:	DMTA
2. Shri S. K. Banerji	:	DMTA
3. Shri P. Sharan Gupta	:	DMTA
4. Shri I. D. Sethi	:	DMTA
5. Shri Ram Lal Chandhok	:	DMTA
6. Shri P. C. Aggarwal	:	DMTA
7. Shri L. Kundan Lal Anand	:	BMMA
8. Shri D. S. Kalyanpur	:	BMMA
9. Shri A. R. Mukherji	:	CMDA
10. Shri A. C. Roy	:	CMDA
11. Shri Inder Sen Chandhok	:	MMPDA
12. Shri V. R. Mohan Krishnan	:	MMPDA
13. Shri Prem Nath	:	ADA
14. Shri K. N. Menon	:	ADA



Pushpinder Singh (Hony. General Secretary)

A decision was taken that a Federation of Auto Parts Dealers' Associations in India should be formed and that the Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi and Madras Associations should become the Founder Members. Associations in other towns were to be enrolled as Associate Members. A Constitution Sub-Committee was appointed and contributions amounting to Rs. 1300 were collected from the Four Associations.

A Motor Parts Price Control Conference was convened in New Delhi by the Ministry of Commerce & Industry on 15th November, 1952 which was presided by Shri T. T. Krishnamachari the then Hon'ble Minister of Commerce & Industry. Following Representatives of Parts Dealers' Associations form Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi and Madras attended this conference :-

Shri D. S. Kalyanpur	:	Bombay
Shri A. C. Roy	:	Calcutta
Shri S. K. Banerji	:	Delhi
Shri P. Sharan Gupta	:	Delhi
Shri V. Kunjithapadam	:	Chennai
Shri P. Chandriah	:	Chennai

A joint meeting of all these representatives was held then along with other DMTA Executive Committee Members. The matter continued to move till January 1953 when the Tariff Commissions first Public Inquiry on the question of Assistance or Protection to Automobile Industry was held.

The representatives of the three Trade Associations again met to discuss the plans. In January 1955, another Conference comprising delegates from Vehicle Manufacturers and Assemblers, State Transport Undertakings, Parts Dealers' Associations was convened in New Delhi by the Ministry of Commerce & Industry to consider the possibility of reduction of spare parts prices.

Shri H. V. Iyengar, the then Secretary to the Ministry presided. At this Conference the Ministry wanted the formation of Federation of Parts Dealers' Associations at the earliest.

A joint Appeal on behalf of BMMA and DMTA was addressed to 23 different Motor Parts Dealers Associations in India, explaining to them the urgency for formation of an All India Federation. A rough draft of the proposed Constitution was also circulated.

It took about further six years to finalize the draft Constitution of the Federation and to get the same approved and adopted by the respective Associations. It was in January 1962 that the Federation was registered under Section 25 of the Indian Companies Act, 1956 under registration No. 3623, with the four Associations of Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi and Madras being its Founder Members.

After the registration of the Federation, a meeting consisting of the following was held in Delhi in May 1962 to chalk out a programme for convening the first statutory meeting of the Federation and to elect the Executive Committee members and office bearers.

- 1. Shri P. K. Basu
- 2. Shri Madan Lal Arora
- 3. Shri Kuldip Singh Chadha
- 4. Shri Bharatindu Chandhok
- 5. Shri S. Gulab Singh Sethi
- 6. Shri P. N. Chopra
- 7. Shri P. Sharan Gupta

As per the provisions in the Constitution, each Founder Member was given a right to nominate four members on the General Body of the Federation. 16 members four each from Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi and Madras were accordingly nominated by their respective Associations to form the First General Body.

The First Statutory Meeting of the Federation was held in June 1962.

Thus was born the Federation of All India Automobile Spare Parts Dealers' Associations, which was dreamt of 12 years back and accordingly became a reality.

The Federation was formally inaugurated at Bombay by Mr. S. K. Patil, the then Union Minister for Foods & Agriculture on 31st December, 1962. The meeting was well attended by a large number of motor parts dealers, Automobile and Ancillary Manufacturers and other dignitaries connected in the development of Road Transport Industry from all parts of the country. Shri P. K. Basu of Calcutta Motor Dealers' Calcutta was elected the first President of the Federation.

The Federation had been able to play its role in disseminating views of the trade in the matters of import, export, sales tax, distribution of indigenously produced automobile spare parts and various procedural matters consistent with the Government Policy and had tried to impress upon the authorities concerned for taking proper actions.

When the Import of Ball, Roller and Tapered Roller Bearings was canalized though the State Trading Corporation (STC), the import licences were being issued to individual agents and organizations in the trade. After the formation of Federation, it undertook to persuade the STC to issue the import licences for bearings to the Constituent Members of the FAIASPDA. As a result thereof, the STC had agreed to get issued 40% of the value of import licences of ball, roller and tapered roller bearings to the Member-Associations affiliated to the FAIASPDA.

It will be seen that through the Federation the Member Associations were able to get import licences for Ball and Roller Bearings for a total value of Rs.5,16,69,600.

The Federation originally consisted of only four Founder Member Associations from Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi and Madras and subsequently more members were enrolled and the Constitution of the FAIASPDA continued to be amended in accordance with the requirement of the changing times to enable the various associations related to Automobile trade to enroll themselves as members of the Federation. As such, the Constitution now provides for the admission of Associations of the parts dealers of Tractors, Two and Three Wheelers, Tyres, Agricultural Machinery Industrial, Earth moving & Construction Equipment and Ball Bearings etc, which can also become members of the Federation. Even individual firms can now be enrolled as members. These amendments now ensure an All India character of the Automobile Trade and Industry as a whole. Today, the Federation has the 32 Associations as its members on rolls in the country.